The Mask Falling


Paige Mahoney has eluded death again. Snatched from the jaws of captivity and consigned to a safe house in the Scion Citadel of Paris, she finds herself caught between those factions that seek Scion's downfall and those who would kill to protect the Rephaim's puppet empire.

The mysterious Domino Programme has plans for Paige, but she has ambitions of her own in this new citadel. With Arcturus Mesarthim – her former enemy – at her side, she embarks on an adventure that will lead her from the catacombs of Paris to the glittering hallways of Versailles. Her risks promise high reward: the Parisian underworld could yield the means to escalate her rebellion to outright war.

As Scion widens its bounds and the free world trembles in its shadow, Paige must fight her own memories after her ordeal at the hands of Scion. Meanwhile, she strives to understand her bond with Arcturus, which grows stronger by the day. But there are those who know the revolution began with them – and could end with them.

The Mask Falling is the fourth book in the Bone Season series.

Content warnings
Aquaphobia, death, human trafficking, needles, panic 
attacks, pregnancy, PTSD, small spaces, torture, violence  


‘Phenomenal ... An unputdownable continuation of the saga’ – Waterstones

‘The narrative exerts the same vice-like grip as before, with danger, deception, hair's-breadth escapes and new revelations coming thick and fast’ – Guardian

US signed edition


  • French by De Saxus, translated by Benjamin Kuntzer – coming soon 
  • Italian by Oscar Vault – coming soon 
  • Polish by SQN, Koniec Maskarady, translated by Regina Kołek